Town, village, neighbourhood at Lignol
See photos (5)
- The origin of the name Lignol in Morbihan remains unknown to this day. We know, on the other hand, thanks to a tumulus which was located in the village of Saint-Hervezen, that the occupation of the country is very old. In the Middle Ages, Lignol belonged to the Kemenet Guégant (Guégant commandery), the Lord Guégant being the founder of Guémené, a neighboring commune. But history particularly retains the arrest of the Marquis de Pont-Calleck at the parish presbytery in 1718. He tried to raise Brittany for the benefit of Philippe V of Spain in order to obtain the restoration of the privileges of the province. Accused of conspiracy against the state, he was beheaded in Nantes in 1720. After the Revolution, another turbulent period in history, in 1794, the chouans assassinate the deputy Corentin Le Floch. Closer to home, local history especially remembers Marie Chon, who disappeared a few decades ago. This woman was given a reputation as a witch because of her atypical lifestyle in the woods. It has given its name to a nice hiking trail. Do not miss the Coscro castle and its garden regularly open to visitors and during major events such as Moving Places. The Saint-Yves chapel, with its remarkable bell tower and its sand pits, is also one of the most charming in the Land of King Morvan. The municipal life in Lignol is active and lively thanks in particular to local businesses.
- Hiking trail