Le Faouët

Town, village, neighbourhood at Le Faouët

  See photos (6)
  • The name of Le Faouët in Morbihan comes from the Breton "faou" meaning "beech". These trees are still there, moreover very numerous. Le Faouët owes its origin to a feudal castle which has disappeared today. Anne de Bretagne raised the seigneury of Faouët, belonging to the Boutteville family at the time, to the rank of barony in 1495. The Boutteville were great builders to whom we owe, in particular, the chapels of Sainte-Barbe and Saint-Fiacre which houses a magnificent rood screen. The Goulaine and du Fresnay families succeeded them. In the 18th century, Le Faouët was strongly agitated by the escapades of Marie-LouiseTromel, better known under the name of Marion du Faouët. This famous band chief plundered the whole region with the help of his brigands for about 15 years before being arrested and hanged. From the middle of the 19th century, it was the more peaceful presence of painters that animated Le Faouët. At the beginning of the 20th century, more of them stayed at Le Faouët to immortalize its rich heritage, notably the covered market halls, the Ste-Barbe chapel and the St-Fiacre chapel. A visit to the Faouët Museum is a natural must ... A detour to Faouët is also an opportunity to immerse yourself in the surprising universe of bees, ants and stick insects. At the Musée de l'Abeille vivante and the Cité des fourmis, adventure awaits young and old to discover little animals that are sometimes scary but have so much to teach us!
Services
  • Equipment
    • Playground
    • Picnic area
    • Cinema
    • Covered swimming pool
    • Restaurant
    • Party/music hall
    • Tennis
    • local shops
  • Services
    • Multimedia library
  • Activities
    • Museum
    • Fishing
    • Hiking trail
    • Mountain biking