Commune du Faouët

Town, village, neighbourhood at Le Faouët

Chapelle Ste Barbe.jpgMA Gouret-Puillandre
Place des halles.jpgMA Gouret-Puillandre
Jubé de St Fiacre.JPGOTPRM
Famille au bord de l'Ellé.jpgAlexandre Lamoureux
Chemin de randonnée.jpgDonatienne Guillaudeau CRTB
  • The name Faouët comes from the Breton "faou" meaning "beech". These trees are still very numerous. The town owes its origins to a feudal castle that has now disappeared. Anne de Bretagne raised the seigneury of Faouët, belonging to the Boutteville family at the time, to the rank of baroness in 1495. The Boutteville were great builders to whom we must, in particular, chapels Sainte-Barbe and Saint-Fiacre which houses a Beautiful rood. The Goulaine and du Fresnay families succeeded them. In the 18th century, Le Faouët was strongly agitated by the escapades of Marie-LouiseTromel, better known under the name of Marion du Faouët. This famous band chief plundered the whole region with the help of his brigands for about 15 years before being arrested and hanged. By the middle of the 19th century, it was the more tranquil presence of artists who animated the town. At the beginning of the 20th century, they were still more numerous to stay or to settle in the Faouët of which they immortalized the rich patrimony, notably the halls. A visit to the Museum is naturally necessary ... A detour to Faouët is also an opportunity to immerse yourself in the surprising universe of bees, ants and phasmas. At the Living Bee Museum and the City of Ants, the adventure awaits young and old to discover small animals that are sometimes scary but have so much to teach us!
Services
  • Equipment
    • Playground
    • Picnic area
    • Cinema
    • Covered swimming pool
    • Restaurant
    • Party/music hall
    • Tennis
    • local shops
  • Services
    • Multimedia library
  • Activities
    • Museum
    • Fishing
    • Hiking trail
    • Mountain biking