© Le Faouët museum
Le Faouët museum
In the middle of the 19th century, many artists were seduced by the charm of inland Brittany. The Chapels of Sainte-Barbe and Saint-Fiacre, as well as the halls of Faouët represented a great source of inspiration for them.
In July 1914, the town inaugurated its first collection of paintings, presented at the time in the town hall. Over time, this collection grew, and today it is housed in a former convent. The museum boasts over 450 works exhibited in permanent and temporary exhibitions. It contains all the wealth of the heritage and traditions of which we are the current custodians.
The history of the museum of Faouët does not end there. In January 2012 it was selected to become a "Musée de France," a status awarded by the Ministry of Culture and Communication, raising its profile and making it a destination for art lovers.
Every year a program of guided tours is proposed, with conferences and activities for all audiences, not forgetting the younger generation.